Skip to content

The Value of Truth?

Jan 24, 2009

I find myself repeating the song “Lie” by David Cook whenever it is played on my iPod. I don’t know why I insist on repeating it, because I don’t even agree with the lyrics of the song.

You whispered that you were getting tired
Got a look in your eye
Looks a lot like goodbye.
Hold on to your secrets tonight.
Don’t want to know I’m ok with this silence
It’s truth that I don’t want to hear

You’re only deluding yourself. What’s the point in holding on when you know that it is ending in the first place? Would it make a difference if you say it outright or not? Why would anyone prefer to delay the pain? What’s the difference if it happens now or later? You are already suffering in the first place, wouldn’t you prefer that it’s over and done with? So that you can move on with your life sooner? This is why I find the lyrics stupid.

So lie to me and tell me that it’s gonna be alright
So lie to me and tell me that we’ll make it through the night
I don’t mind if you wait before you tear me apart
So look me in the eye
And lie lie lie.

But if I think that it’s a stupid song, why on earth do I repeat this song over and over again?

Maybe some part of me can relate to the song. Maybe some part of me prefers being lied upon, instead of hearing the harsh truth. Maybe if I didn’t insist on the truth, it would be less painful.

Maybe in certain circumstances, lying isn’t so bad.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

