Skip to content

Memories of Kite Flying

Feb 1, 2009
tags:

I was in first year high school when my PE teacher proposed that we do a little bit of kite-flying. I admit that my only experience in making kites is very basic, and the last time I made my own kite was when I was five years old. I was a bit ashamed to show my amateurish work to a high school teacher, so I asked my dad for help. He was just too happy to oblige, and I watched him gather all the materials and started working on my kite. It took him several days to finish the kite, he was such a perfectionist. I just stared at the way he would peel off layers from the bamboo wood, hold the sticks together, try to balance it at the tip of his fingers, then peel off some more layers. What an engineer, I thought to myself. I was so proud of my kite when I finally brought it to school.

The wind was blowing off nicely one day, and my classmates and I couldn’t resist going on a test run. I asked my friend to hoist the kite for me, and then I ran. And it flew! I was one of the few who were able to raise their kites successfully. But I noticed that my kite was a bit restless. One minute it was flying towards the left, and then it would immediately swerve and turn right, and so on. It was driving me crazy, because I have to keep on moving to make my kite stay up in the air.

The weird thing about kites is the fact that it can fly as long as there is someone on the ground that maneuvers it. It cannot fly on its own. It is dependent on the skills of the kite-maker and the kite-flyer.

Fast forward to today. I imagined myself like that old kite of mine. Restless, wanting to go to several directions at the same time. And it got me wondering, if I am the kite, who created the kite? Who is the one flying the kite?

As of now, I have no answer.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Feb 1, 2009 1:25 am

    Can we be both the kite and the one who maneuvers the kite? Can we control our own destiny?

  2. Tina permalink
    Feb 1, 2009 1:32 am

    Maybe. But then, there are external factors that could affect which direction you are going to take. I was trying to figure out what those external factors are.

  3. Feb 1, 2009 2:43 pm

    Maybe it’s stuck to a skyscraper. 😉

  4. Tina permalink
    Feb 1, 2009 3:01 pm

    Perhaps. 😛

    But if it is, then I need someone to take it out? I can’t do it alone…

  5. Annette permalink
    Mar 31, 2009 10:22 am

    I humbly suggest that we are the kite, and God is the maker. If we try to control (fly) ourselves, we lose control or never get off the ground. If we allow Him full control of our lives, He is able to keep us aloft no matter the condition of the wind (life).

Leave a Reply

