Skip to content

The Online Life

Jul 14, 2009

A friend of mine forced me to go out on a gimmick one day, effectively breaking my work-apartment routine. Of course I yielded, since it is very rare that I get to meet people speaking in my native language. It is such a relief to speak a bit more spontaneously than usual, since I’m usually very quiet when I hang out with people from our lab.

Anyway, he was asking me what I’ve been doing for the past few days, aside from my research. I find myself stumped with trying to explain what I was doing, since I’ve spent my free time fixing my lifestream blog. And as expected, he asked the question I was dreading: “What for?”

I’ve been so used to the online life: blogging, plurking, tweeting, blog-hopping, Facebook, etc. Sometimes, I forget that there are some people whose online life is still limited to emails and a little social networking. So when I’m asked why I do all of those activities online, I couldn’t quite explain it.

It’s just like having a hobby, I guess. Before my Internet-addiction days, I would spend hours doing cross-stitch. Or I would read books. Whenever I made up my mind to do something, I tend to forget food or sleep. So I guess it is the same thing.

It is also my way of connecting with old friends. Even if I am stuck here in a foreign land, I am still updated with what is happening back home. I think I even surprised my friends here with my random knowledge of current events. They didn’t know that I get all my information from the Internet.

On a side note, did you know that the World Wide Web is 20 years old? Twenty years of keeping people together even if they are miles apart.

I suddenly felt old.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

