Skip to content

What Are We Teaching Our Kids?

Sep 4, 2009

I’ve been pondering on this question ever since I met the director of our institute the other day. He just told me of the recent developments on the issue last year, which reminds me of a similar incident a few months back. And with that viral video that annoyed a lot of Filipinos for the past couple of days, I think that it is time for us adults to try to answer this question:

What are we teaching our kids?

Okay, I will be more specific. How do you answer the following questions?

  • How can you convince others to follow the rule if they can see other people breaking it and eluding punishment?
  • When did being smart become equivalent to being right? And I quote, “Matalino naman eh, hayaan na lang natin.”
  • Do you tolerate the wrong because the others are doing it too?

And we are wondering what is wrong with our country? And we expect whoever is elected president to change everything? He is just one man. We have to do our part as well.

I don’t know how to deal with the questions I’ve raised. One thing I know is that I cannot do it alone.

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

