Skip to content

Chiz, Chiz… Oh No You Didn’t!

Oct 13, 2009

I’m sure that Martin was thinking of what I wrote back then when he wrote this entry. I was willing to be open-minded about it and give him another chance, I might have reacted too strongly just because he attacked the subject I teach. But with his recent proposal to pass all students this year due to storms, he just sealed his fate. You just gave me another reason NOT to vote for you, mister.

First of all, we still have a few more days before the first half of the school year ends. It is too early to say that, there is still a lot of time left for the schools to recover from the tragedy brought about by Ondoy and Pepeng. Granted, not all topics can be covered, but the teachers can still teach something. Lighten up the requirements maybe, but do not throw away the entire year altogether. I shudder to think of the efforts made by the teachers to prepare their lesson plans for the entire year, only to be wasted by a stupid statement from a certain politician.

Second, he says there might not be enough funds to rebuild the schools, and priority should be given to the agriculture sector and repairing of roads and dikes that were destroyed. Heh, there would have been enough money if politicians didn’t spend it in lavish dinners and other whatnots. The outpour of donations from other countries are huge. Are you saying that it will still be not enough? Well it won’t if certain people are pocketing portions of those donations.

Third, he is leaving an impression that education is not important to be successful in life. When something bad happens, the first thing he sacrifices is education. I won’t be surprised if he will reduce the budget for education once he becomes president. He claims that he represents change in his campaign, but I don’t think that the changes he is proposing will benefit our country.

This guy has no respect for education, doesn’t he? I am now more inclined to believe what the others are saying: A vote for Chiz Escudero is a vote for a dumber Philippines.

I strongly suspect that this move of his is just to impress the students. Guess what, Mr. Escudero: You didn’t impress all of them. Hell, the ones who will like this proposal are not even old enough to vote for you next year. Elementary and high school only, folks.

I wonder how this statement will affect his bid for the presidency…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Oct 13, 2009 2:18 am

    He’s our Obama – a slimy, scheming and seemingly harmless entity that tries to win hearts by telling people what they want to hear.

  2. Oct 13, 2009 4:59 am

    @benj — I really doubt that. Just in terms of education, Obama is calling for a longer school year. Who wants that?

  3. Oct 13, 2009 9:27 am

    I can only facepalm at this man’s suggestions.

  4. Oct 13, 2009 8:33 pm

    Hey, Tina. I just reread the man’s comments. I believe he specifies that this should be done to the affected areas only. He also mentions a precedent: the same thing was done during People Power 1 when the country was in a crisis situation. (This one I’ll look into.)

    In the case of Ondoy and Pepeng, the reality is that there are a lot of schools which literally lost everything. Entire homes, schools, and whole communities were washed away. Then a lot more schools were used as refugee centers. In no way do I see his comments as a declaration that all students should pass. He is extending the possibility to those most severely affected, and I do agree to some degree. I know that his comments in no way affect my work. I am still very certain that all schools fully operating now will get to finish the school year and their students who are bound to fail still will.

    The only point I would like clarified is on the issue of promotion. If a kid is Grade 5 now, does passing him this year mean sending him to Grade 6? That WILL be an issue if that’s the case and if he advocates for that, then I’ll be up in arms. But as long as passing them now will keep their record clean enough so they can pick up where they left off next year, then I wouldn’t have a problem with that.

    P.S. He is still an idiot for bashing math though. 😉

    • Oct 14, 2009 12:25 am

      The only point I would like clarified is on the issue of promotion. If a kid is Grade 5 now, does passing him this year mean sending him to Grade 6?

      That’s how I read it. Hindi ba? Eh kasi naman ang labo din ng arguments niya eh. You judge: http://www.chizescudero.com/story/443/chiz-students-should-earn-credits-this-semester

      EDIT: Oh great, he edited it. Dinagdag niya yung “current semester or grading period” sa statement niya. Marami na kasing nagreklamo, haha.

    • Oct 14, 2009 12:33 am

      In any case, what about giving grades based on current class standing? That is what Ateneo did.

Trackbacks

  1. Chiz, Chiz… Oh No You Didn’t!

Leave a Reply

