Skip to content

My 2009

Dec 31, 2009

Sorry for the lack of updates, I’ve been pretty busy lately. I no longer have the luxury of sitting down and collecting my thoughts to write a blog entry. I had to force myself to look back and evaluate my 2009.

As most of you probably know by now, I am back in the Philippines for the holidays. I got to see the new house, something that we could finally call our own. I gave up a big chunk of my savings for this, so I am quite happy when I first laid eyes on the house. It will be financially rough for us for the next five years, but I am hopeful that things would turn out all right.

It is a lot quieter this year, considering that it is already 7:30 in the evening and there are no fireworks in the neighborhood. But considering what has happened for the past few months, with the storms that hit the country hard and with Mayon volcano threatening to erupt any minute now, it is a miracle that people can still celebrate the holidays. After all, surviving all the disasters that happened is enough reason to celebrate.

Personally, it’s been a year of sorting out all of my issues. Living alone in a foreign land gave me more than enough time to look at things from different perspectives. It was rough, and God knows that it took me a long time to finally come to terms with my current situation. I’ve sorted my priorities and realized where my heart truly belongs. All that I have to do now is to stand by the decisions I’ve made this year.

I will forever associate 2009 with A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. Battling demons for the first half of the year and worrying about friends and family during the second half, it was terrible. But this story had a happy ending for me, and I certainly did not regret spending a lot for a plane ticket back home. Spending Christmas season with friends and loved ones certainly beats a trip to Prague and a New Year’s countdown in Berlin. (Yes, Manjo and Gino: I am looking at you guys.)

Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

