Skip to content

Letters From My Past Self

Jan 5, 2010

I encountered FutureMe.org at a time when I am lost and confused with my life. You have the option to make the email private, or you can also make it public but anonymous. You set the date when you want to receive your email, and the site will do the rest for you. I was intrigued while I was reading the public emails in the site, so I gave it a try. I wrote two letters to myself a year ago, while I was passing time alone in Paris.

I almost forgot about those letters until I started receiving those letters a few days ago. Part of me laughed, while another part of me wanted to wring the neck of my past self as I read the emo-ish letters. But it was a good exercise just the same, and I was reminded of the things I promised to myself. I think this is better than simply making New Year’s Resolutions at the beginning of the year.

Time to write another letter to my future self. Later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jan 6, 2010 2:19 pm

    Wish it worked in the reverse… That I could write letters now to who I was a year ago and tell me a few things:
    1) Take more chances.
    2) Trust more that things will turn out right, or if not, then trust that I’ll be able to recover from it.
    3) Cherish the time with the kids more – and blog their euphemisms.
    4) blog more – and get adsense working for me.
    5) finally open that Django book that’s been staring at me all year.
    Sometimes I wonder whether I’d even believe what I’d tell myself in case I received such a letter now. Would you, Tina? hmmm…
    But, ok. I’ll go to FutureMe.org and post on this blog in Jan 5, 2011 – or I might wait until the next palindronic date. 11022011.

Leave a Reply

