Skip to content

Dear Pisay 06

Mar 26, 2010

Wow, time flies so fast. It feels just like yesterday when I was teaching you Trigonometry in high school. And now, you are about to finish college and enter the so-called “real” world. I’m sorry that circumstances cannot allow me to attend your graduation day. Nevertheless, you should be proud of what you have accomplished so far. Some of you will graduate next year, and maybe I will be able to attend that one. For those who will graduate this year, this will have to do.

I have to thank you for teaching me the value of patience. My former teachers and classmates can attest to the fact that I get easily irritated with the slightest provocation. But there is just no point in getting angry when you don’t understand what I was saying in the first place, right? I had to think of several ways to make you understand the concepts. Some of them worked, others did not. In any case, that gave me time to pause and think instead of flying off the handle. So while I haven’t totally rid myself of that habit, it is less true now.

When I listen to your visions of the future, of how things should be done, I find myself remembering how we were back then. We also dreamed big when we were your age. A lot of things happened, so somewhere along the way I lost that optimism. But your dreams make me smile, and I thought that maybe it is not yet too late to pursue that dream. I pray that you do not lose that optimism as you grow older.

The best thing that I learned from you guys is how to have fun. I did not care for those extracurricular activities when I was in college. Yes, I was boring during my college years. I only maintained a small circle of friends, and we don’t even meet that often. (I blame the Math building for being isolated with the rest of the UP community during that time, and the fact that I chose an unpopular course.) It was a breath of fresh air to watch your Ramayana presentations, to listen to your Paskorus pieces, or to take your pictures during the retreat. By golly, I even found a lot of people who can relate to my yaoi anime obsessions!

I am glad that you became part of my life. I have to admit that I learned a lot from you, my former students. I probably learned a lot more from you than what you’ve learned from me. Personally, I value those lessons compared with what I’ve learned from all of my professors in college combined. You’ve changed me and helped define what I am right now.

Thank you, and I wish you the best of luck in the future!

P.S. Since I cannot celebrate with you when you get your degrees, let’s just celebrate when I get mine. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron permalink
    Mar 26, 2010 4:36 pm

    Awww. Thanks Ma’am! Kahiti di pa ako ga-graduate this year, I’ll just re-read this when my time comes. Hahaha! 🙂

  2. Sofia permalink
    Mar 26, 2010 9:39 pm

    Aww. ♥ Kahit hindi pa din ako ga-graduate this sem, I feel the love. Magpa-party tayo kanila Migz pag PhD ka na! Haha 😀 Miss you ma’am~ ♪

  3. Bex permalink
    Mar 26, 2010 9:56 pm

    🙂 Di pa ako gagraduate pero, wow. I pretty much agree with everything Sofia said. Party kina Migz pag doktor ka na! woooot! Attend po kayo ng grad ko, ha?XD
    Also, meet us the next time na umuwi ka! ! Sama ka sa dinner namin cause we miss you!

    • Mar 26, 2010 10:22 pm

      Nasa Pilipinas ako from August 17 to August 31. Birthday ni Ma’am Joyce on the 18th, tapos wedding ni Sir Sherwin on the 28th.

Leave a Reply

