Skip to content

The Wrong Kind of Girl

Oct 30, 2010

It was a farewell party for one of my friends in Paris, and I was one of the first to arrive at the bar since I live nearby. I only knew one person in the group, so I was content with listening to their conversations while waiting for the others. Eventually the group got bigger, and the table was practically divided into 2 groups: one dominantly male and one dominantly female. Since I was the first girl to arrive, I found myself sitting on the dominantly male side of the table.

Guess what the topic of conversation was all about. Relationships and sex.

As time went on, I found myself being confronted by the guys to explain a girl’s logic. They were telling me that the sexual desires of men are stronger than those of the women, so if the girl refuses to have sex with the guy, the natural response would be for the guy to find someone else. But of course, the girl will get angry if she finds out that the guy had an affair with someone else. Now they are clamoring for equality, that if the girl doesn’t want the guy to divert his attention, then she should give in and satisfy the sexual desires of men.

I was not drunk enough to pick a fight argue, but my mind can’t come up with a good response either. All I could do was mutter, “You’re talking to the wrong kind of girl.”

Honestly, I don’t understand the love affair of women with bags, shoes and clothes. It’s lucky if I get to shop for new wardrobe once a year. I don’t know how to use makeup, and I only wear it when I have to attend a formal event. When I have to go to a wedding I have to drag my gay friend to help me shop, and he would always lament and ask me if I am really a girl. I’ve spent hours in front of a computer playing a game, and there was one incident that I asked my friends to leave me in the coffee shop if they really have to go home, because I can’t leave until I finish the boss stage of Diablo II. I only engage in casual talk with strangers if I’m drunk enough to do so.

So if a guy approaches me and asks for advice and think that I could answer all their questions, they would be very disappointed. I’m as confused as guys are in understanding how a normal female mind thinks.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dec 3, 2010 6:10 am

    http://xkcd.com/435/ – oh well.

Leave a Reply

